NRAO EVLA Advisory Committee Meeting

September 8-9, 2003

Location: AOC in Socorro, New Mexico

---

We invite and encourage the community to contact any of the NRAO/EVLA Advisory committee members, if there are concerns about the EVLA. The committee membership list with accompanying contact information is found at the end of this page.

Charge of the Committee

Advise the NRAO Director concerning the ability of the EVLA project to achieve its scientific and technical goals. The Committee should provide advice on scientific, management, and technical (both hardware and software) priorities as well as design and implementation issues.

 

Access PowerPoint Template for meeting presentations.

 

Agenda

 

Reading Materials for Committee

EVLA Phase II Proposal - For access information,

contact Terry Romero tromero@nrao.edu

EVLA Phase II Cost Estimate For access information,

contact Terry Romero tromero@nrao.edu

EVLA Project Book Chapters

Current EVLA Management Chart

Current Phase I Personnel Plan

Antenna Block Diagram

CEB Block Diagram

Software Requirements Documents (No. 26 29)

 

Presentations:

PPT

PDF

Project Overview and Status (P. Napier)

PPT

PDF

Systems Hardware Overview (J. Jackson)

PPT

PDF

RFI Plan & Suppression Progress (R. Perley)

PPT

PDF

Fiber Phase Stability Issues (S. Durand)

PPT

PDF

Front-End Issues (P. Lilie)

PPT

PDF

Correlator ( P. Dewdney)

PPT

PDF

NRAO Computing Re-organization (J. Ulvestad)

PPT

PDF

EVLA Computing Organization (G. van Moorsel)

PPT

PDF

Scientific Requirements (B. Butler)

PPT

PDF

Monitor and Control (B. Sahr)

PPT

PDF

e2e (G. van Moorsel)

PPT

PDF

Off-Line Processing (J. McMullin)

PPT

PDF

Phase II Overview and Status (R. Perley)

 

 

EVLA Advisory Committee Report

Project Response to the EVLA Advisory Committee

 

 

 

 

EVLA Advisory Committee Membership List

Dr. Marco de Vos

Netherlands Foundation for Research in Astronomy

Postbus2

Dwingeloo, 7990 AA

The Netherlands

devos@nfra.nl

Dr. Alan Rogers

Haystack Observatory

Westford, MA 01886

arogers@newton.haystack.edu

Dr. Jacqueline Van Gorkom

Columbia University

Dept of Astronomy

538 W. 120th St.

New York, NY 10027

jvangork@astro.columbia.edu

Dr. John Dreher

SETI

Project Phoenix

2035 Landings Drive

Mountain View, CA 94043

dreher@seti.org

 

Dr. Stephen Scott

Caltech, OVRO

P.O. Box 968

Big Pine, CA 93513

scott@ovro.caltech.edu

Dr. Sander Weinreb

JPL

MS 168-214

Pasadena, CA 91109

sweinreb@earthlink.net

Dr. Mark Reid (Chair)

Harvard-Smithsonian

Center for Astrophysics

Radio and Geoastronomy

60 Garden St., MS 42

Cambridge, MA 02138

reid@cfa.harvard.edu

Dr. Russ Taylor

Department of Physics and Astronomy

University of Calgary

2500 University Dr. N.W.

Calgary Alberta T2N 1N4

Canada

russ@ras.ucalgary.ca

 

 

Dr. Anthony G. Willis

Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory

PO Box 248

Penticton, B.C.

CANADA V2A 6K3

Tony.Willis@hia.nrc.ca

 

 

Dr. Luis Rodriguez

Inst de Astronomia UNAM

Apdo Postal 70-264

Mexico City, DF04510

Mexico

l.rodriguez@astrosmo.unam.mx

 

Dr. Steve Thorsett

Astrophysics Department

University of California

1156 High St.

Santa Cruz, CA 95064

thorsett@ucolick.org

 

 

 

 

Last revised on September 10, 2003, by Terry Romero tromero@nrao.edu