The 26th Annual New Mexico Symposium
  5 November 2010 - National Radio Astronomy Observatory

Dark skies and remote sites have attracted world-class astronomical facilities to the Southwest and supported a wide range of research since the mid-1900s. Regional achievements span areas in both science and technology including optical and radio interferometry, as well as new understanding of solar physics, planetary science, star and galaxy formation and evolution, and the creation and evolution of our universe. To support the network of scientific research in the Southwest and encourage interdisciplinary discussions, the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) and New Mexico Tech are sponsoring the 26th Annual New Mexico Symposium on Friday, 5 November 2010, at the NRAO Science Operations Center (SOC) in Socorro, NM.

Thank you all for a great meeting.

The oral presentations are now available on the oral program page.

Location: The symposium will be held in the auditorium of the Science Operations Center (SOC) at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory. The SOC is located on the campus of the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology in Socorro, New Mexico.

Jansky Lecture: The 45th annual Karl G. Jansky Lecture will be given by Reinhard Genzel during the symposium. Prof. Genzel's lecture is titled "The formation and evolution of massive proto-disk galaxies".

Dinner: NRAO will be hosting a post-meeting dinner, starting with cocktails at 5:30pm. The dinner will be held at the Macey Center adjacent to the SOC on the New Mexico Tech campus. It will be free to officially registered symposium participants.

Public Jansky Lecture: Prof. Genzel will also give a public lecture at 8:00pm, following the Symposium Dinner. The lecture will take place in Workman 101 on the campus of New Mexico Tech and is open to the public. The lecture is titled "The Galactic Center Black Hole and Nuclear Star Cluster". There will be an informal reception following the lecture. Click here for a poster.

Some useful links:

Sponsored by:

This page last updated on 28 October 2010 by Amy Mioduszewski.